National Poetry Day #3: A Stormy Beach

2012-06-05 14.49.36

It was to be a day to relax and breathe.
It was a time to rest and read.
It was a time to have some fun,
to play out in the sun.
But it wasn’t.

On the horizon something brewed.
In the sky dark clouds accrued.
In the distance there was a rumble.
My day at the beach was in trouble.

As the clouds darkened the sky turned grey
My vision was arrested and caught in a haze.
The sunlight was cast away.
The wind surged inland.
The air around me grew frigid.
The waves pounded the shore.
The sandcastle was torn asunder.
Then tears littered my screen.
The tear-drops grew in size and number,
drop, drop, drop, drop,
splat, splat, splat, splat.
The sadness of what was enveloped me.

The sky wept for the light
knowing it was rushing the night.
My careful plans taken
My day at the beach stolen.

~ by hankimler on April 4, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
