Everything Will Change

Time waits for no one
Especially not me.
Everything will change.
I come back and I toil with it.

Simplicity, patience, compassion.
These three are your greatest treasures.

Simple in actions and thoughts,
you return to the source of being:
One agent in the right place,
at the right time
With the right skills
more effective than an army.

The thing about war?
I hear it never ends.

Patient with both friends and enemies,
you accord with the way things are.
Doesn’t matter what the press says.
Don’t matter what the politicians or the mob say.
Doesn’t matter if the whole country decides that
something wrong is something right.

This nation was found on one principle above all else:
the requirement that we stand up for what we believe,
no matter the odds or the consequences.
When the mob and the press and the whole world
tell you to move, your job is to plant yourself like
a tree beside the river of truth, and tell the
whole world, “No, you move.”

Compassionate towards yourself,
you reconcile all beings in the world.
Don’t let people die because it’s the lesser of two evils,
or expedient, or because it serves the greater good.
Don’t compare the act against something else

See someone who needs help and help.
You think it’s a weakness.
You think it’s simple.
But you’re wrong.
It’s what makes us human.
It’s exactly what we’re fighting for.
Rescue the helpless.
Raise up the hopeless.
Don’t measure people’s lives…
Save them.

Time waits for no one
Especially not me.
Everything will change.
I come back and I toil with it.

I can still hear my father’s sermons.
I still hear his uncompromised faith in his fellow man.
His certainty of a better tomorrow.
He gave people a reason to hope.
A reason to be better.

You look at him and you see a light leading the way…
someone who stood for something.
He lived as he died.
Gunned down stopping a fight.
He’s just a man stumbling through life.
He’s not a great beacon, he’s barely a candle,
lighting a path for himself the best he can.
And as we all know, eventually…
Candles go out.

Yet his sermons live on in me.
A million Sundays worth of his dreams.
Dreams of bringing hope to the hopeless.
Defending those who could not defend themselves.
Helping the forgotten and impoverished.
Fighting greed, racism and hatered.
A dream of creating the kind of world we deserve to live in…

For years I thought he was trying to be the answer.
But I see now what his actions say:
there is no answer.
Figure out for yourself how to be better,
as he is trying to do.
And perhaps now, at the end,
I can admit that in being
the farthest thing from the answer
He might have been the closest we’ll come to one.

Time waits for no one
Especially not me.
Everything will change.
I come back and I toil with it.

~ by hankimler on December 15, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
