Holy Week Haiku 2015

my soul is oppressed
my people people abandoned,
why are You silent

a house stands defiled
prayer supplanted by money:
the Temple of God

the chaos waters
and sea monsters rule the land—
judgment on His own

I have found my Hope
and bathe Him in shameful tears,
they are all I have

A table is set
for the god we seek after
to thrash our rivals

we stripe Your back and
pierce Your hands for Your treason;
victory is ours

my true Champion
I killed You in my blindness,
now all hope is gone

the stone rolled away
the tomb a grave for the grave:
You conquered the night!

~ by hankimler on March 31, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
