National Poetry Month Day 14

“Stepping Outside”

April’s breeze tickles
my skin as she puffs sun-cooled
air through the newly
greened trees, whose branches wave from
side to side in a séance

Her body’s heat wraps
its arms around my shoulders—
a close friend to comfort you
in your darkest moments and
deepest pits of hell

Her cloudless grey eyes
stirs my soul from its
restless slumber of ghoulish
dreams haunting my every breath,
now safely gazing heaven

There is no other place my soul
thirsts for than in April’s arms.
On her worst day she is full
of life when she speaks
softly to my heart

~ by hankimler on April 14, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
