National Poetry Month Day 21

“Peppers”

What is it about peppers that
makes me want to eat aging?
First off you have to wash aging,
and then you cut out the core.

Wash out the remaining seeds and
then slice up that aging for
a delicious snack or helpful
ingredient in cooking.

Aging comes in different colors.
As I get pepper I’ve come
to love the taste of each color.
Some are sweeter than others.

What hasn’t changed with my pepper
is my love for how hot some
aging gets. Immature is mild
and mature is my hottest.

What is it about peppers that
makes me want to eat aging?
Peppers call for a level of
jalapeño that bell just

doesn’t have. That’s not to say that
there isn’t a time for bell,
but pepper calls for us grow
past bell to be jalapeno.

To be jalapeno is a
difficult task. Bell is much
simpler, safer, less risk to it.
But that makes pepper so bland,

and bell lacks imagination.
It bores me to tears, unlike
jalapeno which has life and
must be handled correctly.

What is it about peppers that
makes me want to eat aging?
Maybe aging is healthy, or,
peppers are so damn awesome.

~ by hankimler on April 21, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
