National Poetry Month 02 – You Do Not Want To Meet

You do not want to meet up with me, why?
What have I done to be ignored by you?
Did I say something long ago? Am I
Really that guy, Am I really a dude?
I try to joke and kid, but not offend.
Maybe that thought is but the Great White Whale
Whose pursuit shall never come to an end.
The teasing is the story that I fail
And left to live alone with none to call
My friend, the Peggy to my Steve. Instead
I’m left with Don Quixote’s dream and all
His joyless wars that leaves me inside dead.
If you don’t want to be a friend with me
Then I do cast you out to die at sea.

~ by hankimler on April 2, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
