National Poetry Month 03 – I Cannot Get You Out of my Head

I cannot get you out from in my head
Though I have not seen you in fifteen years:
A person living only in my dread.
As bitter memory dry-heaving tears,
Existing merely as a blank figure—
No details of your face, your eyes, your smile.
You are a cancer rotting with no cure
My mouth is left to eat my sour bile.
I cannot go throughout my day without
One try at finding clarity, to fill
What’s missing in a mind so full of doubt
About seeing the one who haunts me still.
I curse the day I saw you, took your hand
In mine, the flame inside my heart was fanned.

~ by hankimler on April 3, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
