National Poetry Month 04 – I am Afraid to Call

I am afraid to call your number to
See if you would like to go a date.
Don’t ask me why this is; minutes are few
For me to find an answer that won’t grate
My insecurities. My courage is
Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high,
And I don’t have a way to climb. My fist
Is clinched, my nails dig deep. O why am I
So shy? It’s just a phone number to call—
Or text! I could just text you and relax.
For what do I do then? Better Call Saul.
Or hear Kenny G. play the blessed sax.
Okay I would not wait, a nervous wreck
Again, again, my cell phone I would check.

~ by hankimler on April 4, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
