National Poetry Month 05 – America Apollo, Glorious

America Apollo, glorious
of all the heroes, hear my song of praise.
You stand for truth and justice, and some stuff
that no one else believes in these last days.
In these last days, they have become hateful
and cynical—“I live for me and me
alone.” The world’s colors are dust and dull:
Green grass is brown; blue sky is grey. They sing
to take away Your song, Your relevance.
You stand for truth inside a world that lies
to profit on injustice. But I can’t
sit idly by; to merely sing belies
my praise. I must become You, Man of Steel,
lest cynical, I have become the heel.

~ by hankimler on April 5, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
